Creative Rampage

From my head to my hands to you.

Hand stitched suns veggie tanned Day of the Dead leather belt

Posted by creativerampage on November 9, 2008

My hands become machines

Check out my shop for one of a kind leather goods!

This was a custom order that I did. I had so much fun making this one!

Beautifully handcrafted from super think yet buttery soft 9-10 oz. veggie tanned leather, this belt will last for many years. Leather was cased, distressed, edged, and beveled. All edges front and back end to tip were hand polished the old fashioned way to a smooth and glassy finish. I then began embellishing with tediously hand marked, punched, and stitched half suns perfectly placed along the edging over 700 holes!

I wanted to leave the belt completely natural so I choose hemp instead of nylon for the stitching. Stitching was finished off, woven back through, hit with a dab of leather cement and whacked with my trusty rawhide mallet. I then added altered bottle cap conchos depicting ten different day of the dead themed images and durably riveted them onto the belt.

I finished it off by adding a roller bar buckle and easy to use snaps allowing you to change out the buckle yourself. Perfect for your day of the dead buckles or any buckle of your choosing.

All images are sealed in a super shiny glass-like finish, making them waterproof & protected for life. Printed on the best quality photo paper with my high end printer.

Contact me at creativerampage@gmail.com for custom orders. Thank you!

`Amanda

Leave a Reply

 
